Mainspring Conservation Trust

In 2012, the Little Tennessee Watershed Association merged with the Land Trust for the Little Tennessee (LTLT), broadening its mission to incorporate stream bank restoration and monitoring water quality.  In 2016, LTLT changed its name to Mainspring Conservation Trust to reflect what the organization has grown to be: the motivating force for conservation in the heart of the Southern Blue Ridge.

We work with landowners to conserve their land through conservation easements for agriculture, beauty and other values. Streambank restoration initiatives ensure that our waterways continue to support rich aquatic life. And our education and citizen science initiatives teach hundreds of adults and kids about the importance of clear, healthy streams.

Hiwassee Office Location:
46 Valley River Avenue
Murphy, NC 28906
Fax: 828-524-4741

Accreditation seal


Contact Mainspring Conservation Trust

Contact Mainspring Conservation Trust

Sharon Fouts Taylor
Executive Director
557 East Main St
PO Box 1148
Franklin, North Carolina  28744
Phone: (828) 524-2711
Fax: (828) 524-4741


Service Area

Services provided in:
  • Rabun County, Georgia
  • Cherokee County, North Carolina
  • Clay County, North Carolina
  • Graham County, North Carolina
  • Jackson County, North Carolina
  • Macon County, North Carolina
  • Swain County, North Carolina