Congaree Land Trust

The Congaree Land Trust was established in 1992 to conserve the natural and scenic lands, farms, waterways, forests and natural areas in central South Carolina, by assisting landowners with voluntary conservation in Richland, Lexington, Kershaw, Fairfield, Lee, Sumter, Calhoun, Orangeburg, Bamberg, Clarendon and Williamsburg counties.

The Congaree Land Trust is a 501(c)(3) nonprofit organization in central South Carolina that endeavors to strike a balance between growth and conservation. We believe that voluntary, private and incentive-based conservation is the most effective way to preserve our natural heritage; thus, we work with landowners who voluntarily want to protect their land. The landowner may qualify for tax benefits on their federal, state and estate taxes.

Since the Land Trust began work in 1992, we have worked to protect natural and historic communities that are unique to the heart of the state. Our work includes safeguarding miles of riverfront, acres of working farms, large stands of forests, and acres of natural areas, all for the betterment of the state and for those who live here. Today the Land Trust has conserved over 20,000 acres in central South Carolina.

Accreditation seal

Contact Congaree Land Trust

Contact Congaree Land Trust

Mary Crockett
Land Protection Director
2231 Devine Street
PO Box 5232
Columbia, South Carolina  29202
Phone: (803) 988-0000
Fax: (803) 988-0202


Service Area

Services provided in:
  • Bamberg County, South Carolina
  • Calhoun County, South Carolina
  • Clarendon County, South Carolina
  • Fairfield County, South Carolina
  • Kershaw County, South Carolina
  • Lee County, South Carolina
  • Lexington County, South Carolina
  • Orangeburg County, South Carolina
  • Richland County, South Carolina
  • Sumter County, South Carolina
  • Williamsburg County, South Carolina