Columbia Land Trust

Columbia Land Trust works to permanently conserve the natural resources of the Columbia River region. We conserve, restore, and manage signature landscapes, vital habitats, and working farms and forests in Oregon and Washington from east of the Cascade Mountains to the Pacific Ocean. These lands are at risk from overdevelopment, unsustainable practices, and other threats. By working positively with landowners and local communities we can sustain the unique qualities of the Pacific Northwest for our children and future generations.

Since 1990, the private nonprofit Columbia Land Trust has been working in the greater Columbia River region to conserve signature landscapes and vital habitats.  

Around the same time, the private nonprofit Three Rivers Land Conservancy began work to preserve lands around the Portland Metro area.  They began acquiring lands around Lake Oswego and continued to identify 11 other local watersheds where land conservation would be beneficial.  After growing to nearly 1000 members, they merged with Columbia Land Trust in 2010.

Together we work exclusively with Washington and Oregon landowners committed to voluntarily preserving their land forever.

Our organization prides itself on maintaining neutrality in the interests of the common good. We succeed because we are resourceful, versatile and pragmatic in working to achieve our goals while remaining true to our long-term vision. 

Through the generous actions of our nearly 1,800 members, and by working collaboratively with landowners, local residents, government entities and other nonprofit organizations, the Columbia Land Trust has conserved more than 18,000 acres from the east side of the Cascade Mountains to the Pacific Ocean in Oregon and Washington.

Accreditation seal


Contact Columbia Land Trust

Contact Columbia Land Trust

Dan Roix
Conservation Director
1351 Officers Row
Vancouver, Washington  98661-3856
Phone: 360-696-0131
Fax: (360) 696-1847


Service Area

Services provided in:
  • Clackamas County, Oregon
  • Clatsop County, Oregon
  • Columbia County, Oregon
  • Hood River County, Oregon
  • Multnomah County, Oregon
  • Wasco County, Oregon
  • Washington County, Oregon
  • Yamhill County, Oregon
  • Clark County, Washington
  • Cowlitz County, Washington
  • Klickitat County, Washington
  • Lewis County, Washington
  • Pacific County, Washington
  • Skamania County, Washington
  • Wahkiakum County, Washington
  • Yakima County, Washington