Winnebago County Soil and Water Conservation Districtlast updated: August 2009

Winnebago County Soil and Water Conservation District is a public body made up of citizens concerned with the protection of our natural resources.  It is governed by a five-member board of directors elected by District landowners and residents.  This board of directors, the Department of Agriculture's Natural Resources Conservation Service (NRCS) develop annual and long range plans that direct the activities of the District and NRCS.

In partnership with U.S.D.A. – Natural Resources Conservation Service and the Illinois Department of Agriculture, the District is able to assist landowners in controlling soil erosion by applying conservation practices on the land. In addition, the District participates in several county-wide activities to promote conservation and environmental education. Through the educational programs sponsored by the District, it is hoped that future generations will continue to help conserve our most valuable resources, soil and water

Along with technical assistance the district will help you with developing conservation planning and implementing conservation practices with help from the state and federal agencies.  Check out state and federal funding and technical assistance programs in Illinois

Contact Winnebago County Soil and Water Conservation District

Contact Winnebago County Soil and Water Conservation District

Dennis Anthony
Executive Director/Soil Scientist
4833 Owen Center Road
Rockford, Illinois  61101-6007
Phone: (815) 965-2392
Fax: (815) 965-2447


Service Area

Services provided in:
  • Winnebago County, Illinois

To request additions or corrections to this entry email the Administrator