Yell County Conservation District

Yell County Conservation District will provide technical assistance & guidance to all land users in the district on the wise & efficient use & conservation of soil, water, & related natural resources.  We will serve as the medium through which all individuals, agencies, organizations & institutions with conservation interest can work together in solving local land & water conservation problems.

Conservation districts are political subdivisions of the State of Arkansas. They are a creation of popular vote of resident landowners for the purpose of conserving our land and water resources as authorized by Act No. 197 of the Arkansas General Assembly of 1937; the Nation's first conservation district law.

Conservation districts are local governments at work and their specific responsibility is management of our soil and water resources. The idea behind their formation is to keep decision making on soil and water conservation matters at the local level. Each district is governed by a board of five directors who serve without pay. Two directors are appointed by the Arkansas Natural Resources Commission and three are elected by resident landowners.

Contact Yell County Conservation District

Contact Yell County Conservation District

Sharon Underwood
District Secretary
1002 East 8th Street
P.O. Box 9
Danville, Arkansas  72833-8802
Phone: (479) 495-2441
Fax: (479) 495-7651


Service Area

Services provided in:
  • Yell County, Arkansas