Weston County Natural Resource District

The Weston County Natural Resource District's mission is to provide leadership in conserving the natural resources in the Weston County Natural Resource District by providing information, education and technical assistance to meet the needs of the users.

The Weston County Natural Resource District was organized in 1960 and received certification from the Secretary of State on January 16, 1961 under the name Beaver Skull Conservation District.  A name change to Weston County Natural Resource District was designated on April 15, 1994 by the Secretary of State of Wyoming.  The name change was a recommendation at a local long range public planning meeting.

The original District boundary was land in Weston County that lies east of Highway 85 and north of Highway 16. Landowners inside this area at the time of creation had the option to opt out of the district. Additionally, landowners outside this area were given the option to opt in. All land additions to the district since that time, have been done voluntarily by landowner request.   Any land in Weston County lying outside District boundaries can be added voluntarily by landowners to the District at anytime.  The District currently encompasses a majority of Weston County.

Because the duties assigned to the Conservation Districts are many and varied, it is necessary for the District to analyze resource needs and issues and develop a long range management program for the conservation and development of the natural resources within the District.

It is governed by a board of five supervisors. Supervisors are locally elected officials who serve without pay. By state statute three are rural, one is urban and one is designated as at-large. They are elected to staggered four-year terms.

Contact Weston County Natural Resource District

Contact Weston County Natural Resource District

Jennifer Hinkhouse
District Coordinator
1225 Washington Boulevard
Suite 3
Newcastle, Wyoming  82701-2982
Phone: (307) 746-3264
Fax: (307) 746-2870


Service Area

Services provided in:
  • Weston County, Wyoming