Three Rivers Soil and Water Conservation District

Mission Statement

“To achieve soil and water conservation within the district through leadership, education and technical assistance.”

Vision Statement

“It is our intent to safeguard soil and water within Three Rivers District by making significant strides toward achieving the water quality goals of the State of Virginia and the Chesapeake Bay Act through putting conservation on the ground and working with the Tributary Strategies of the York and Rappahannock Watersheds.”

Three Rivers Soil and Water Conservation District (TRSWCD) covers the Middle Peninsula of Virginia, between the Rappahannock River in the North to the York/Mattaponi/Pamunkey in the South. The district covers three counties, Essex, King William and King & Queen. 

Three Rivers is a political subdivision of state government that acts as a non-profit. We promote responsible land use decisions for the conservation, protection, and improvement of soil and water resources through partnering, technical guidance, and education. In Virginia, there are 47 conservation districts. We are overseen by six elected and two appointed officials who are often natural resource professionals and active community members. 

Technical assistance and education are very important parts of our commitment to conserving our natural resources. We not only provide a service (technical and monetary assistance) to agricultural producers/landowners, but we also serve as a resource and technical adviser to homeowners, real estate groups, watershed councils, schools, local governments and many others. Our programs are focused on protecting or improving water quality and natural resources for the benefit of residents.

Contact Three Rivers Soil and Water Conservation District

Contact Three Rivers Soil and Water Conservation District

Michelle Carter
District Manager
772 Richmond Beach Road
PO Box 815
Tappahannock, Virginia  22560
Phone: (804) 443-2327
Fax: (804) 443-1707


Service Area

Services provided in:
  • Essex County, Virginia
  • King And Queen County, Virginia
  • King William County, Virginia