The Delta Research and Extension Center

The Delta Research and Extension Center, or DREC, focuses its research and extension activities on cotton, rice, soybean, corn and catfish production. Scientists and Extension specialists work cooperatively to solve crop and aquaculture production problems and transfer new information and technology to area producers.  The Delta Branch research facility now covers about 1,650 acres total, including approximately 200 acres of federally owned land. Row crops are grown on about 1,200 of these acres, and soil types vary from very fine sandy loams to heavy clays. Additionally, 275 acres are catfish research ponds. The nearby Delta Experimental Forest covers close to 3,000 acres of state land. More than 12,000 people visit the Stoneville research complex each year. For an outstanding educational experience, visitors are given tours of the facility and labs and also interpretive driving tours of the crops and catfish ponds where at times the feeding of the catfish can be observed.

The major purpose of Extension activity is the transfer of new research information and technology through extension education activities and methods. The Delta Research and Extension Center brings focus to both the short- and long-term concerns of Delta producers. This enhances the land-grant mission of Mississippi State University as producers have access to an interdisciplinary staff for interaction and decision-making purposes.

Contact The Delta Research and Extension Center

Contact The Delta Research and Extension Center

Dr. Steve Martin
82 Stoneville Road
Stoneville, Mississippi  38776
Phone: 662.686.9311
Fax: 662.686.7336


Service Area

Services provided in:
  • Attala County, Mississippi
  • Bolivar County, Mississippi
  • Carroll County, Mississippi
  • Coahoma County, Mississippi
  • De Soto County, Mississippi
  • Grenada County, Mississippi
  • Holmes County, Mississippi
  • Humphreys County, Mississippi
  • Issaquena County, Mississippi
  • Leflore County, Mississippi
  • Montgomery County, Mississippi
  • Panola County, Mississippi
  • Quitman County, Mississippi
  • Sharkey County, Mississippi
  • Sunflower County, Mississippi
  • Tallahatchie County, Mississippi
  • Tate County, Mississippi
  • Tunica County, Mississippi
  • Washington County, Mississippi