San Juan Soil and Water Conservation District


  1. To protect, restore, enhance, and promote the wise use of natural resources
  2. To promote stewardship through education
  3. To provide financial and administrative assistance to citizens and groups in the district.

San Juan SWCD was incorporated on October 24th, 1941. It is one of 47 conservation districts in New Mexico. The District covers half of San Juan County, the westernmost edge of Rio Arriba County, and the northwest corner of Sandoval County. It includes some Navajo Nation chapters and a section of the Ute Mountain Ute Reservation. San Juan SWCD is bordered on the west by various Navajo Nation chapters and by the Navajo Agricultural Products Industry (NAPI), on the east by the Jicarilla Apache Reservation, on the south by McKinley SWCD, and on the north by the Colorado state line. The District includes large sections of the San Juan, Animas, and La Plata rivers, as well as the New Mexico portion of Navajo Lake. San Juan SWCD works with numerous partners on both private and public lands to ensure that resource conservation is a priority in Northwest New Mexico.

Contact San Juan Soil and Water Conservation District

Contact San Juan Soil and Water Conservation District

Melissa May
District Coordinator
1427 W. Aztec Blvd.
Ste. 1
Aztec, New Mexico  87410
Phone: (505) 334-3090 x5


Service Area

Services provided in:
  • San Juan County, New Mexico