Puerto Rico Conservation Stewardship Program

Puerto Rico Conservation Stewardship Program (CSP)
(replaces the Conservation Security Program)

Updated 06/13/2008

2008 Watersheds Announced for the Caribbean Area

USDA Secretary, Ed Schafer, announced a sign-up for the Conservation Security Program (CSP) that will be available starting on April 18 to May 16, 2008. The sign-up announcement and specific program requirements are being published in the Federal Register.  

CSP is a voluntary conservation program that supports ongoing stewardship of private, agricultural working lands and rewards those producers who are meeting the highest standards of conservation and environmental management on their operations. 

Payments can include three components: 1) an annual stewardship component for the base level of conservation treatment, 2) an annual component for maintenance of existing conservation practices, and 3) an enhancement component for exceptional conservation efforts. Enhancement activities could include limited pesticide applications, renewable energy generation, and widening existing riparian forest buffers for restoring critical stream habitat.

The municipalities included within the Western Puerto Rico Watershed priority area in the 2008 CSP signup period are:

Counties in Watershed Watershed Map
  • Rincón
  • Aguadilla (Western Area)
  • Aguada
  • Moca
  • Añasco
  • Mayagüez
  • Hormigueros
  • Cabo Rojo
  • San Germán
  • Lares
  • Las Marias
  • Maricao
  • San Sebastian
  • Sabana Grande
  • Yauco (Northern Area)
  • Adjuntas

The Field Offices impacted are Juana Diaz, Mayagüez, San German and San Sebastian.

For more information on the USDA-NRCS Conservation Security Program, visit http://www.nrcs.usda.gov/programs/csp/


Jaime Valentin, State Resource Conservationist
Telephone: 787-766-5206, extension 229

Contact Puerto Rico Conservation Stewardship Program

Puerto Rico


Service Area

National Program