Portage Soil & Water Conservation District

Founded in 1946, the Portage SWCD is one of 88 conservation districts in Ohio and nearly 3,000 nationwide. The District is directed by a dedicated, five-member Board of Supervisors that is composed of local volunteers who are publicly elected to three-year staggered terms. Programs are designed and executed by a staff of federal NRCS and local SWCD professionals.

The Portage SWCD is an independent subdivision of the State of Ohio, associated with the Ohio Department of Natural Resources (ODNR) - Division of Soil & Water Conservation, and funded by county and state taxpayer monies.

Conservation Programs

The Portage SWCD & the Natural Resources Conservation Service (NRCS) encourage landowners to adopt practices that conserve and manage our natural resources. We offer various programs to help you attain your conservation goals.

Contact Portage Soil & Water Conservation District

Contact Portage Soil & Water Conservation District

James Bierlair
District Coordinator
6970 State Route 88
Ravenna, Ohio  44266-9130
Phone: (330) 297-7633 ext 112
Fax: (330) 296-5917


Service Area

Services provided in:
  • Portage County, Ohio