Poinsett Conservation District

to promote the wise use of the soil and water resources in the county.  The District works diligently with cooperators, landowners, state, federal, local agencies and educators to develop a comprehensive plan of work that will meet the needs of the citizens of Poinsett County and conserve soil and water.

Conservation districts are political subdivisions of the State of Arkansas. They are a creation of popular vote of resident landowners for the purpose of conserving our land and water resources as authorized by Act No. 197 of the Arkansas General Assembly of 1937; the Nation's first conservation district law.

Conservation districts are local governments at work and their specific responsibility is management of our soil and water resources. The idea behind their formation is to keep decision making on soil and water conservation matters at the local level. Each district is governed by a board of five directors who serve without pay. Two directors are appointed by the Arkansas Natural Resources Commission and three are elected by resident landowners.

Contact Poinsett Conservation District

Contact Poinsett Conservation District

Brandy Gardner
District Coordinator
505 Brooks Avenue
Harrisburg, Arkansas  72432-1334
Phone: (870) 578-2444 x3
Fax: (870) 578-9479


Service Area

Services provided in:
  • Poinsett County, Arkansas