Piedmont Soil and Water Conservation District

Piedmont Soil and Water Conservation District (SWCD) is a non-profit, political subdivision of the Commonwealth of Virginia operating primarily on a grant basis with funds from state and local government. Piedmont SWCD is the local lead organization in providing technical and educational assistance for natural resource conservation to land users, farmers, foresters, homeowners, and local governments. Our mission is to promote the wise use and conservation of soil, water, and related resources.

The  District was organized in 1939 and was originally comprised of Amelia, Dinwiddie, Nottoway, Powhatan, and Prince Edward counties. Today the Piedmont SWCD serves Amelia, Nottoway and Prince Edward counties. These three counties are located in the Piedmont Plateau of Virginia and encompass approximately 1031 square miles. Our main office is in Farmville. We also have a satellite office in Amelia.

Programs and initiatives are administered by a volunteer Board of Directors. Two Directors from each county are elected to four-year terms. Two additional Directors are appointed; one serves as a Director-at-large and the other represents Virginia Commonwealth Extension. Associate Directors are also appointed by the Board.

Contact Piedmont Soil and Water Conservation District

Contact Piedmont Soil and Water Conservation District

Deanna Fehrer
District Manager
100 B Dominion Drive
Farmville, Virginia  23901
Phone: (434) 392-3782 Ext. 5
Fax: (434) 392-4577


Service Area

Services provided in:
  • Amelia County, Virginia
  • Nottoway County, Virginia
  • Prince Edward County, Virginia