Ouachita Conservation District

Conservation districts are political subdivisions of the State of Arkansas. They are a creation of popular vote of resident landowners for the purpose of conserving our land and water resources as authorized by Act No. 197 of the Arkansas General Assembly of 1937; the Nation's first conservation district law.

Conservation districts are local governments at work and their specific responsibility is management of our soil and water resources. The idea behind their formation is to keep decision making on soil and water conservation matters at the local level. Each district is governed by a board of five directors who serve without pay. Two directors are appointed by the Arkansas Natural Resources Commission and three are elected by resident landowners.

Contact Ouachita Conservation District

Contact Ouachita Conservation District

Sandy L. White
District Secretary
351 Washington St.
Federal Bldg., Room 218
Camden, Arkansas  71701-0000
Phone: (870) 836-2089 x3
Fax: (870) 836-8041


Service Area

Services provided in:
  • Ouachita County, Arkansas