Morton County SCD

A Soil Conservation District is a local unit of governement organized under authority of the North Dakota Soil Conservation Disitrict Law.

  • A soil conservation district has established boundaries, usually along county lines, that have the authority to conduct surveys, investigations and research relating to soil erosion and the prevention and control measures needed. They may conduct demonstrations by which soil blowing and soil washing may be prevented and controlled.
  • Soil conservation districts may make available to land occupiers within the district agricultural and engineering machinery and equipment, seeds and seedlings or other equipment for the prevention and control of soil erosion. They may cooperate and enter agreements with other units of government at the local, state and federal level to assist the district in providing for the conservation of the soil and soil resources of the district.
  • Soil conservation districts have comprehensive plans for the conservation of soil resources and the control and prevention of soil erosion within the district. They may carry out education, promotion and recognition activities within their district.
  • A soil conservation district is governed by a board of 3 elected soil conservation district supervisors elected at the time of the General Election, who shall serve for a six-year term. A soil conservation district, upon resolution of the three elected supervisors, may appoint two additional supervisors who shall serve for a term of one year.

Contact Morton County SCD

Contact Morton County SCD

Beth McCleary
SCD Clerk
2540 Overlook Lane
Mandan, North Dakota  58554
Phone: (701) 667-1163 ext 3
Fax: (701) 667-4106


Service Area

Services provided in:
  • Morton County, North Dakota