Mississippi Agricultural Water Enhancement Program (AWEP)
The Agricultural Water Enhancement Program (AWEP) is a voluntary conservation initiative that provides financial and technical assistance to agricultural producers to implement agricultural water enhancement activities on agricultural land for the purposes of conserving surface and ground water and improving water quality. As part of the Environmental Quality Incentives Program (EQIP), AWEP operates through program contracts with producers to plan and implement conservation practices in project areas established through partnership agreements. The Secretary of Agriculture has delegated the authority for AWEP to the Chief of NRCS. Under AWEP, the Natural Resources Conservation Service (NRCS) enters into partnership agreements with eligible entities that want to promote ground and surface water conservation or improve water quality on agricultural lands. 

Program Description

Each fiscal year, NRCS may make AWEP financial and technical assistance available to eligible owners and operators of agricultural lands who participate in approved AWEP project areas. Within Mississippi, only producers located within the Tunica County AWEP Proposal Area and the Mississippi Delta AWEP Proposal Area are eligible for financial and technical assistance.
As authorized by Congress, this is not a grant program to eligible partners. This is a program whereby approved, eligible partners will enter into multi-year agreements with NRCS to promote ground and surface water conservation, or improve water quality on eligible agricultural lands. The intent of AWEP is for the Federal government to leverage investment in natural resources conservation along with services and non-Federal resources of other eligible partners. Individual producers are not eligible to submit a partnership proposal.


Owners and operators engaged in livestock or agricultural production may be eligible for the program. Eligible land includes cropland, rangeland, pasture, private non-industrial forestland, and other farm or ranch lands. Producers must submit a program application to be considered for financial assistance through AWEP.

Interested producers should visit their nearest USDA Service Center to determine eligibility.  Additional information on the 2013 AWEP is available at www.nrcs.usda.gov/programs.

Eligible Conservation Practice Information:

The following  (Practice Code, Name, Unit) lists conservation practices eligible for payment under AWEP: 
  • 118, Irrigation Water Management Plan, No
  • 130, Drainage Water Management Plan, No
  • 134, Conservation Plan Supporting Transition from Irrigation to Dryland Plan-Written, No
  • 342, Critical Area Stabilization, Ac 
  • 356, Dike, CuYd
  • 397, Aquaculture Pond, Ac
  • 410, Grade Stabilization Structure, Ton/Cu/Yd/Sq/Ft/Ea
  • 430, Irrigation Water Conveyance, Pipeline, L, LnFt
  • 436, Irrigation Storage Reservoir, CuYd
  • 442, Irrigation System, Sprinkler, LnFt/Ea
  • 443, Irrigation System, Surface and Subsurface, Ea
  • 449*,Irrigation Water Management, Ac/Ea
  • 464*,Irrigation Land Leveling, CuYd
  • 484, Mulching, Ac/Sq/Ft
  • 533, Pumping Plant, HP/Ea/In/LnFt
  • 554, Drainage Water Management, Ea
  • 560*,Access Road, Ft
  • 587, Structure for Water Control, InFt/Ft/SqFt/In
  • 590, Nutrient Management, Ac
  • 601, Vegetative Barriers, LnFt
  • 607, Surface Drainage, CuYd
  • 642, Water Well, LnFt
  • 656, Constructed Wetland, Ac
*449 - Cost cap ($8,090 BASE cap/$9,709 HU cap)
*464 - Cost cap  ($53,760 BASE cap/$64,400 HU cap)
*560 - cost Cap ($11,757 BASE cap/$14,116 HU cap)
There is a contract cap of $75, 000.   

Mississippi AWEP General Guidance Information

Mississippi AWEP Ranking Tool


Contact Mississippi Agricultural Water Enhancement Program (AWEP)

Contact Mississippi Agricultural Water Enhancement Program (AWEP)

Clarence Finley
State Resource Conservationist
100 W. Capitol Street
Suite 1321 Federal Bldg.
Jackson, Mississippi  39269
Phone: 601-965-5205 x2114
Fax: 601-965-4940


Service Area

Services provided in:
  • Bolivar County, Mississippi
  • Carroll County, Mississippi
  • Coahoma County, Mississippi
  • De Soto County, Mississippi
  • Grenada County, Mississippi
  • Holmes County, Mississippi
  • Humphreys County, Mississippi
  • Issaquena County, Mississippi
  • Leflore County, Mississippi
  • Panola County, Mississippi
  • Quitman County, Mississippi
  • Sharkey County, Mississippi
  • Sunflower County, Mississippi
  • Tallahatchie County, Mississippi
  • Tate County, Mississippi
  • Tunica County, Mississippi
  • Warren County, Mississippi
  • Washington County, Mississippi
  • Yazoo County, Mississippi