Mauna Kea SWCD
The Hawaii Association of Conservation Districts (HACD), founded in 1954, is an association of the 16 local soil and water conservation districts in Hawaii.  It is governed by an executive board represented by a delegate from each district.  This board elects officers of the Association which include a president, five vice presidents, secretary, treasurer, and national councilperson.  The national councilperson represents the State at the National Association of Conservation Districts.

An executive director manages the HACD.

HACD pools District experience and knowledge to develop policies, provide technical and educational resources to agricultural land users, and encourage use of best management practices (BMPs) to mitigate soil erosion and water pollution.

The annual meeting of the HACD, the hosting of which rotates between the islands, provides a lively forum for the exchange of ideas and experiences between district leaders and other members of the natural resources conservation partnership.  This meeting is held in June of each year.

Contact Mauna Kea SWCD

Contact Mauna Kea SWCD

Michelle Watson
Executive Director
193 Aiea Heights Drive
Suite 110
Aiea, Hawaii  96701
Phone: (808) 483-8600 x120
Fax: (808) 483-8619


Service Area

Services provided in:
  • Hawaii County, Hawaii