La Crosse County Extension

University of Wisconsin-Extension is a unique partnership of counties, the U. S. Department of Agriculture and the University of Wisconsin working together to help people put knowledge to work. It reflects the vision that has become known as the Wisconsin idea.

This partnership brings education to people where they live, through extension offices in each of Wisconsin 's counties. It supports educational programs for farmers, businesses, communities, families and young people.

UW-Extension uses education to help people understand and confront problems. Educational programs developed and conducted by county faculty reflect local concerns. Faculty use knowledge from the University of Wisconsin , other universities and the United States Department of Agriculture.

UW-Extension programming combines faculty, campus-based specialists, and staff expertise in the areas of Agriculture/Horticulture; Community, Natural Resources and Economic Development; Family Living Education; and 4H & Youth Development.

La Crosse County UW-Extension program directions through 2006 target La Crosse County's concerns regarding six major issues:

  • Intergovernmental Cooperation
  • Land Use: Accomodating Community Growth, Maintaining Regional & Character Beauty
  • Rising Costs Limit Availability of Affordable Health Care and Insurance
  • Children and Families: The Demands That They Face
  • Improving Economic Well-being and Security of Communities and Families
  • Leveraging People Power


Contact La Crosse County Extension

Contact La Crosse County Extension

Mary Meehan Strub
Department Head
300 North 4th Street
La Crosse, Wisconsin  54601-3299
Phone: (608)785-9563
Fax: (608)789-4808


Service Area

Services provided in:
  • La Crosse County, Wisconsin