Independence County Conservation District

The Independence County Conservation District provides the grassroots leadership necessary for the county’s soil, water, and related resources.
Our District serves local people through a partnership and close-working relationship with state and federal conservation agencies working to address local resource-related concerns by encouraging and guiding local initiatives.

Conservation districts are political subdivisions of the State of Arkansas. They are a creation of popular vote of resident landowners for the purpose of conserving our land and water resources as authorized by Act No. 197 of the Arkansas General Assembly of 1937; the Nation's first conservation district law.

Conservation districts are local governments at work and their specific responsibility is management of our soil and water resources. The idea behind their formation is to keep decision making on soil and water conservation matters at the local level. Each district is governed by a board of five directors who serve without pay. Two directors are appointed by the Arkansas Natural Resources Commission and three are elected by resident landowners.

Contact Independence County Conservation District

Contact Independence County Conservation District

Ricki Gilbert
District Secretary
490 E. College Street
Room 242
Batesville, Arkansas  72501-5632
Phone: (870) 793-4164 x3
Fax: 870-793-3175


Service Area

Services provided in:
  • Independence County, Arkansas