Hickory Underground Water Conservation District No. 1

The District was created by an order of the Texas Water Commission on June 9, 1982, and organized under the terms and provisions of Article XVI, Section 59 of the Texas Constitution and Chapters 35 and 36 of the Texas Water Code. We were formed to "formulate, promulgate, and enforce rules and regulations for the purpose of conserving, preserving, prevention of waste, protecting, and recharging" the waters of all aquifers within the District boundaries. In short, our mission is to protect your groundwater.

The District covers approximately 1,700,000 acres in all of Mason County and portions of McCulloch, Concho, San Saba, Menard, and Kimble County. Five directors, making up our Board of Directors, represent these areas. The Board meets on the second Thursday of every month at the District office, located on the northeast side of the square in Brady. The Board ensures that control of District groundwater remains in the hands of local citizens in the District.

Contact Hickory Underground Water Conservation District No. 1

Contact Hickory Underground Water Conservation District No. 1

David Huie
111 East Main St.
P.O. Box 1214
Brady, Texas  76825
Phone: 325-597-2785
Fax: 325-597-0133


Service Area

Services provided in:
  • Concho County, Texas
  • Kimble County, Texas
  • Mason County, Texas
  • McCulloch County, Texas
  • Menard County, Texas
  • San Saba County, Texas