Edwards Aquifer Authority

The Edwards Aquifer Authority (EAA) is a regulatory agency established by the 73rd Legislature in May 1993 with the passage of the Edwards Aquifer Authority Act to preserve and protect this unique groundwater resource. However, legal challenges prevented the EAA from operating until June 28, 1996. Today, a 17-member board of directors representing Atascosa, Bexar, Caldwell, Comal, Guadalupe, Hays, Medina, and Uvalde counties continues its mission. Teams of geologists, hydro-geologists, environmental scientists, environmental technicians, educators, and administrative staff collaborate daily to manage, enhance, and protect the Edwards Aquifer for the approximately 2 million South Texans who rely on the aquifer as their primary source of water.

Contact Edwards Aquifer Authority

Contact Edwards Aquifer Authority

Roland Ruiz
General Manager
900 E. Quincy
San Antonio, Texas  78215-1415
Phone: 210-222-2204
Toll Free: 800-292-1047
Fax: 210-222-9869


Service Area

Services provided in:
  • Atascosa County, Texas
  • Bexar County, Texas
  • Caldwell County, Texas
  • Comal County, Texas
  • Guadalupe County, Texas
  • Hays County, Texas
  • Medina County, Texas
  • Uvalde County, Texas

Related Success Stories for Edwards Aquifer Authority

Partnerships for Bat Conservation
Targeted conservation efforts involving a diverse array of partners are protecting bats and their habitats in caves and mines.