Cleveland County Conservation District

Conservation districts are political subdivisions of the State of Arkansas. They are a creation of popular vote of resident landowners for the purpose of conserving our land and water resources as authorized by Act No. 197 of the Arkansas General Assembly of 1937; the Nation's first conservation district law.

Conservation districts are local governments at work and their specific responsibility is management of our soil and water resources. The idea behind their formation is to keep decision making on soil and water conservation matters at the local level. Each district is governed by a board of five directors who serve without pay. Two directors are appointed by the Arkansas Natural Resources Commission and three are elected by resident landowners.

Contact Cleveland County Conservation District

Emily Kelly
240 W. Mockingbird Ln.
PO Box 302
Rison, Arkansas  71665-0302
Phone: (870) 325-6581
Fax: (870) 325-7171


Service Area

Services provided in:
  • Cleveland County, Arkansas