Watauga Soil and Water Conservation Districtlast updated: March 2009

The Watauga County Soil and Water Conservation office is located in Boone at 971 West King Street. Normal business hours are 8:00 a.m. - 5:00 p.m., Monday through Friday.

The Watauga Soil And Water Conservation District is a subdivision of state government charged with planning, executing, and promoting sound conservation practices. Its objectives are secured largely through the voluntary cooperation of landowners.

The District administers the N.C. Agricultural Cost Share program to improve water quality and reduce non-point source pollution on agricultural lands. The Natural Resources Conservation Service and other agencies of the U.S. Department of Agriculture, as well as some state and local agencies provide technical assistance.

The county, with limited state financial support, provides funds and office space. The five member board consists of two members appointed by the State Soil and Water Conservation Commission and three members elected to four-year staggered terms on a non-partisan basis.

Regular District Board meetings are on the fourth Wednesday of each month, at 10:00 am in the District Office at 971 West King Street, but are subject to change.

Contact Watauga Soil and Water Conservation District

Contact Watauga Soil and Water Conservation District

Donna Harmon
Administrative Asst./Education Coord
971 West King Street
Boone, North Carolina  28607-3468
Phone: (828) 264-0842
Fax: (828) 264-3857


Service Area

Services provided in:
  • Watauga County, North Carolina

To request additions or corrections to this entry email the Administrator