South Central Texas Regional Water Planning Grouplast updated: July 2016

The South Central Texas Regional Water Planning Area, Region L, consists of Atascosa, Bexar, Caldwell, Calhoun, Comal, DeWitt, Dimmit, Frio, Goliad, Gonzales, Guadalupe, Karnes, Kendall, La Salle, Medina, Refugio, Uvalde, Victoria, Wilson, Zavala, and part of Hays Counties.

The purpose of the South Central Texas Regional Water Planning Group (SCTRWPG), Region L, is to provide comprehensive regional water planning and to carry out the related responsibilities placed on regional water planning groups by state law. Foremost among those responsibilities is the development of a regional water plan for the planning area.

The plan identifies both short and long-term water supply needs and recommends water management strategies for addressing them. The plan is updated every five years.

The SCTRWPG is composed of planning group members representing various interest groups. It is guided by the Texas Water Development Board, led by an Executive Committee, governed by by-laws, and supported by the San Antonio River Authority and a team of technical consultants. Planning group meetings are held on a quarterly basis.


Contact South Central Texas Regional Water Planning Group

Contact South Central Texas Regional Water Planning Group

c/o San Antonio River Authority
P.O. Box 839980
San Antonio, Texas  78282
Phone: (210) 227-1373


Service Area

Services provided in:
  • Atascosa County, Texas
  • Bexar County, Texas
  • Caldwell County, Texas
  • Calhoun County, Texas
  • Comal County, Texas
  • De Witt County, Texas
  • Dimmit County, Texas
  • Frio County, Texas
  • Goliad County, Texas
  • Gonzales County, Texas
  • Guadalupe County, Texas
  • Hays County, Texas
  • Karnes County, Texas
  • Kendall County, Texas
  • La Salle County, Texas
  • Medina County, Texas
  • Refugio County, Texas
  • Uvalde County, Texas
  • Victoria County, Texas
  • Wilson County, Texas
  • Zavala County, Texas

To request additions or corrections to this entry email the Administrator