Marshall County Soil and Water Conservation Districtlast updated: April 2009

The Marshall County Soil and Water Conservation District is a legal subdivision of state government responsible for the conservation of soil and water resources within its boundaries. It is an independent body formed under and subject only ot the Indiana Soil and Water Conservation District Law.
It was organized by landowners of Green, Polk, Union, Walnut, and West Townships in May of 1955. In December of 1961 Bourbon, Center, German, North, and Tippecanoe Townships were added to the District. The District is controlled by a board of five local supervisors - three elected by the landowners in the district and two appointed by the State Soil and Water Conservation Board. The supervisors meet 12 to 15 times a year to conduct the district's business and attend other meetings in and out of the county. They serve their community without pay.

The supervisors are responsible for providing leadership in the conservation and development of soil, water and related resources within thedistrict's boundaries. The major purpose of the district is to analyze needs and develop and carry out both short and long range programs aimed at solving resource problems, primarily dealing with soil and water resources. The ultimate district objective is to cause soil and water conservation practices and systems to be implemented upon the land.

The supervisors and staff work with both rural and urban dwelling landowners or occupiers, groups, local agencies and others to prevent resource problems, correct existing soil and water conservation problems and help utilize the county's natural resource capabilities. Through the district, local people are also better able to organize and coordinate their efforts in obtaining technical and financial assistance from state and federal agencies with responsibilities and expertise in natural resource use and development.

Contact Marshall County Soil and Water Conservation District

Contact Marshall County Soil and Water Conservation District

Wanda Norris
Assistant Administrator
2903 Gary Drive
Plymouth, Indiana  46563-8889
Phone: (574) 936-2024


Service Area

Services provided in:
  • Marshall County, Indiana

To request additions or corrections to this entry email the Administrator