Geauga Soil and Water Conservation Districtlast updated: May 2016

To conserve, protect, and enhance the soil and water resources of Geauga County by providing leadership, education and assistance to all.

The Geauga Soil and Water Conservation District (SWCD) was established in 1944. It was the 29th SWCD to be established in Ohio. The Geauga SWCD is a legal entity of the State of Ohio and is administered by a five-member, elected Board of Supervisors. These Board members make important decisions regarding conservation within the county and set the direction for the District Staff.

The District works cooperatively with other county agencies, local officials, and conservation groups. The USDA Natural Resources Conservation Service works with the District by offering assistance to agricultural producers within the county. Each of the 88 Ohio counties has its own SWCD, and funding is obtained through the County Commissioners, the State of Ohio, grants, and donations.

The individual Soil and Water Conservation Districts within the state serve the varying needs of the county in which they are located. The Geauga SWCD serves the residents of Geauga County by providing many quality services. The District works with the local community to increase the awareness and appreciation of the county's valuable natural resources.


Contact Geauga Soil and Water Conservation District

Contact Geauga Soil and Water Conservation District

Colleen Lair
Administrative Assistant
14269 Claridon-Troy Road
PO Box 410
Burton, Ohio  44021-0410
Phone: (440) 834-1122
Fax: (440) 834-0316


Service Area

Services provided in:
  • Geauga County, Ohio

To request additions or corrections to this entry email the Administrator