Colorado State Land Board

In 1876, the Colorado Constitution created the Colorado State Board of Land Commissioners (State Land Board), which manages lands that the Federal Government granted to Colorado in public trust.  The State Land Board is the second-largest landowner in Colorado, with 2.8 million surface acres and 4.0 million mineral estate acres.  A dual mission guides State Land Board management of these assets: to produce reasonable and consistent income over time, and to provide sound stewardship of the state trust assets.  The lands are held in eight public land trusts, which benefit public schools and public institutions.  State Land Board revenue entirely funds its operations, and the agency does not rely on tax dollars.  The State Land Board's Strategic Plan is used as a framework to guide the Board and Staff in achieving agency objectives and goals.

The State Land Board manages an endowment of assets held in perpetual, intergenerational, public trusts for the financial support of Colorado’s public schools and other public institutions.  The State Land Board has a dual mission: to generate reasonable and consistent income; and to protect and enhance the value of the trust lands for future generations.

Contact Colorado State Land Board

REMINDER: This listing is a free service of LandCAN.
Colorado State Land Board is not employed by or affiliated with the Land Conservation Assistance Network, and the Network does not certify or guarantee their services. The reader must perform their own due diligence and use their own judgment in the selection of any professional.

Contact Colorado State Land Board

District 2 - North Central
360 Oak Avenue
Suite 110
Eaton, Colorado  80615
Phone: 970-454-5279
Fax: 970-454-5426


Service Area

Services provided in:
  • Adams County, Colorado
  • Arapahoe County, Colorado
  • Boulder County, Colorado
  • Broomfield County, Colorado
  • Clear Creek County, Colorado
  • Denver County, Colorado
  • Douglas County, Colorado
  • Elbert County, Colorado
  • Gilpin County, Colorado
  • Jefferson County, Colorado
  • Larimer County, Colorado
  • Morgan County, Colorado
  • Weld County, Colorado

Create an Account to make additions or corrections to your profile.