Van Buren SCD

Conservation Districts establish conservation priorities, resolve soil loss complaints, establish acceptable soil loss limits, publish annual reports, approve soil conservation plans, and assist in the management of district funds and personnel. Districts work to protect, conserve and restore natural resources for present and future generations by actively seeking resources and partnerships to promote Soil Conservation and improve Water Quality.


Soil and Water Conservation Districts are a subdivision of state government, governed by District Commissioners who are elected at the general elections on a nonpartisan basis for four-year terms. District Commissioners are volunteer conservation promoters who are charge by the Iowa General Assembly with the restoration and conservation of the soil, water, and related natural resources of the county. Assistant Commissioners can be appointed by the SWCD Board to help implement District activities.

Contact Van Buren SCD

Contact Van Buren SCD

Todd Mathis
District Conservationist
1016 Franklin Street
East Wing
Keosauqua, Iowa  52565-1098
Phone: (319) 293-3523


Service Area

Services provided in:
  • Van Buren County, Iowa