Rich Mountain Conservation District

Conservation districts are political subdivisions of the State of Arkansas. They are a creation of popular vote of resident landowners for the purpose of conserving our land and water resources as authorized by Act No. 197 of the Arkansas General Assembly of 1937; the Nation's first conservation district law.

Conservation districts are local governments at work and their specific responsibility is management of our soil and water resources. The idea behind their formation is to keep decision making on soil and water conservation matters at the local level. Each district is governed by a board of five directors who serve without pay. Two directors are appointed by the Arkansas Natural Resources Commission and three are elected by resident landowners.

Contact Rich Mountain Conservation District

Contact Rich Mountain Conservation District

Sharon Walston
District Manager
508 Seventh Street
Mena, Arkansas  71953-3203
Phone: (479) 394-1782
Fax: (479) 394-3554


Service Area

Services provided in:
  • Polk County, Arkansas