Kansas Flint Hills Smoke Management

This site has been developed to provide one location for land managers conducting prescribed burns in the Flint Hills to obtain information and access tools to assist them in making burn decisions.

The website is the result of the development of the Flint Hills Smoke Management Plan. It provides training, regulations, policies, publications, a modeling tool and other links to guide people looking for information on smoke management.

The development of the Flint Hills Smoke Management Plan is an attempt to balance the need for prescribed fire in the Flint Hills with the need for clean air in downwind communities. The plan does not include any provisions that restrict the burning of grasslands in the Flint Hills.

Instead, the plan takes a voluntary approach toward improving air quality during the burn season. The plan's voluntary approach leaves flexibility in the hands of the land manager but also puts the responsibility on him or her to make wise decisions.

The plan and website are cooperative efforts of countless persons with many perspectives on Flint Hills burning. We encourage land managers to use the site and to provide us feedback on organization, content, ease of use, and ways in which the site can be improved for the next burn season.

Clenton Owensby, Professor-Range Management,Agronomy 
K-State Research and Extension
Kansas State University
123 Umberger Hall
Manhattan, KS 66506
785-532-7232; owensby@ksu.edu

Contact Kansas Flint Hills Smoke Management

Contact Kansas Flint Hills Smoke Management

Rick Brunetti
Director, KDHE
1000 SW Jackson
Suite 310
Topeka, Kansas  66612-1366
Phone: (785) 296-1551
Fax: (785) 296-7455


Service Area

Services provided in:
  • Barber County, Kansas
  • Butler County, Kansas
  • Chase County, Kansas
  • Chautauqua County, Kansas
  • Cowley County, Kansas
  • Douglas County, Kansas
  • Elk County, Kansas
  • Geary County, Kansas
  • Greenwood County, Kansas
  • Harvey County, Kansas
  • Johnson County, Kansas
  • Leavenworth County, Kansas
  • Lyon County, Kansas
  • Marion County, Kansas
  • Morris County, Kansas
  • Ness County, Kansas
  • Pottawatomie County, Kansas
  • Pratt County, Kansas
  • Reno County, Kansas
  • Riley County, Kansas
  • Sedgwick County, Kansas
  • Sheridan County, Kansas
  • Sumner County, Kansas
  • Wabaunsee County, Kansas
  • Wilson County, Kansas
  • Wyandotte County, Kansas