John W Grieve

The Cañon City District of the Colorado State Forest Service (CSFS) is one of 15 districts and three field offices located throughout Colorado. We are a service and outreach agency of the Warner College of Natural Resources at Colorado State University (CSU). The CSFS headquarters is located on the CSU Foothills Campus in Fort Collins.

Our mission is to achieve stewardship of Colorado’s diverse forest environments for the benefit of present and future generations.

The Cañon City District delivers technical assistance to private landowners, municipal and county governments and agencies. The district is the silvicultural lessee for state trust lands in Pueblo, Fremont and Custer counties.

Our programs and services are varied but generally fall within the categories of forest management, wildfire mitigation, community forestry and environmental education/outreach.

John has been a CSFS forester since 1985 and a district forester since 1992.  He has been a NRCS technical service provider since 2005 (TSP#05-5213)    

Contact John W Grieve

Contact John W Grieve

Colorado State Forest Service
District Forester
515 McDaniel Blvd
Canon City, Colorado  81212
Phone: (719) 275-6865
Fax: 719 275-6853


Service Area

Services provided in:
  • Custer County, Colorado
  • Fremont County, Colorado
  • Pueblo County, Colorado