Iowa Conservation Action Network

The Iowa Conservation Action Network is offering free conservation planning assistance to ICGA and ISA members in five priority watersheds:  Floyd, Turkey, Middle Cedar, and East and West Nishnabotna (see map).  Members in these watersheds can call, email, or attend meetings to get free planning assistance for grassed waterways, wetlands, ponds, sediment basins, and soil loss assessments.  Network participants will receive a map and cost estimate with multiple options for each conservation practice.  In addition, one LICA contractor in each watershed will use the same technology to provide conservation planning.

The planning assistance relies on a suite of conservation practice planning software developed by Iowa-based small-business, Agren.  The Agren software utilizes aerial imagery and high resolution elevation data to reduce the time to plan conservation practices from weeks to just minutes.  Using technology to improve production has been central to agriculture.  It makes sense that technology should also be central to Iowa agriculture’s efforts to improve sustainability.  The software suite provides an excellent platform for a transition to private sector conservation planning.

Iowa’s current, public-sector infrastructure for conservation technical assistance is inadequate to meet demand.  As a membership-driven partnership, IACAN believes engaging the private sector in conservation planning is imperative to helping our member-farmers plan and install the number of conservation practices called for in the nutrient reduction strategy.  By combining our resources, we have the capacity to make a significant and long-term impact on conservation delivery in Iowa. Furthermore, as representatives of farm and earth-moving businesses in Iowa, we aim to preserve the livelihoods of our member businesses.






Contact Iowa Conservation Action Network

Contact Iowa Conservation Action Network

1255 SW Prairie Trail Pkwy
Ankeny, Iowa  50023
Phone: 855-376-6815


Service Area

Services provided in:
  • Adair County, Iowa
  • Adams County, Iowa
  • Allamakee County, Iowa
  • Audubon County, Iowa
  • Benton County, Iowa
  • Black Hawk County, Iowa
  • Bremer County, Iowa
  • Buchanan County, Iowa
  • Buena Vista County, Iowa
  • Butler County, Iowa
  • Carroll County, Iowa
  • Cass County, Iowa
  • Cherokee County, Iowa
  • Chickasaw County, Iowa
  • Clay County, Iowa
  • Clayton County, Iowa
  • Crawford County, Iowa
  • Delaware County, Iowa
  • Dubuque County, Iowa
  • Fayette County, Iowa
  • Floyd County, Iowa
  • Fremont County, Iowa
  • Grundy County, Iowa
  • Harrison County, Iowa
  • Howard County, Iowa
  • Jones County, Iowa
  • Linn County, Iowa
  • Mills County, Iowa
  • Mitchell County, Iowa
  • Montgomery County, Iowa
  • O'Brien County, Iowa
  • Page County, Iowa
  • Plymouth County, Iowa
  • Pottawattamie County, Iowa
  • Shelby County, Iowa
  • Sioux County, Iowa
  • Tama County, Iowa
  • Taylor County, Iowa
  • Winneshiek County, Iowa