Northeastern Area Association of State Foresterslast updated: April 2016

NAASF members include the state forestry agencies in the 20 New England, Mid-Atlantic, and Midwest states, as well as the District of Columbia. State forestry agencies are responsible for a variety of activities, including:

  • Managing forest land and related natural resources
  • Informing and assisting the public, forest landowners, and natural resource groups
  • Monitoring forest health and condition
  • Serving as implementers of state and federal forestry programs
  • Ensuring regulatory compliance
  • Informing development and implemention of forest policies 

Forests and the benefits they offer often cross boundaries and political jurisdictions. When states cooperate with one another, federal agencies, conservation groups, and interested citizens, such collective and cooperative efforts benefit more people and improve forests locally and across the region.

Contact Northeastern Area Association of State Foresters

Contact Northeastern Area Association of State Foresters

Laura Schweitzer
Policy and Communications Director
PO Box 2434
Rockville, Maryland  20847
Phone: (202) 631-0590


Service Area

Statewide service provider in:
  • Connecticut
  • DC
  • Delaware
  • Illinois
  • Indiana
  • Iowa
  • Maine
  • Maryland
  • Massachusetts
  • Michigan
  • Minnesota
  • Missouri
  • New Hampshire
  • New Jersey
  • New York
  • Ohio
  • Pennsylvania
  • Rhode Island
  • Vermont
  • West Virginia
  • Wisconsin

To request additions or corrections to this entry email the Administrator